Hunter Education in Texas
Hunter Education in Texas is an important step for legally hunting in the Lone Star State. Whether you were born and raised in Texas, or you just like to visit once a year for an amazing trophy whitetail hunt, each hunter born on or after September 2, 1971 needs complete a Hunter’s Education course to legally hunt in the state of Texas.
Minimum age requirements for Hunter Education are 9 years of age. Children under 9 that are hunting must be accompanied by an adult at least 17 years of age that has completed, or is exempt from, the Hunter Education Training and is licensed to hunt in Texas. Children between the ages of 9 and 16 must pass a hunter certification program as well as be accompanied by the above criteria.
Hunter Education Deferral is possible for adults 17 or older. Deferral costs approximately $10 and may be obtained only once. This allows a person who has not yet completed Hunter Education training to legally postpone certification for up to one year. It will remain valid though the end of the license year that you purchased the deferral. However, if you chose to defer training, then you must also be accompanied by a person licensed to hunt that is over 17 years old and has passed hunter education training.
If you are from out of state and have already passed a hunter education course, there is no need to take the Texas course. Texas Parks and Wildlife will recognize Hunter Education certificates from all other states in the U.S.
The Texas Hunter Certification cost approximately $15, and may be completed by a structured classroom course of around 6 hours, by an internet/home-study course and 1 day field session, or by a complete online course. Topics covered include gun safety, hunting regulations and rules, ethics, wildlife identification, and often field exercise training including live firing. There are available options for Basic, Enhanced or Advanced courses.
Available courses, as well more information on the rules and requirements for Hunter Education in Texas, are available online through the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department at http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/outdoor-learning/hunter-education.
Keep in mind that even though certification is not required to purchase a hunting license, if you hunt without certification you are running a risk of being fined. Even if you are military, law enforcement, or have a conceal and carry license, this course is still required to hunt in Texas.
If you are hunting this year with Double T Outfitters, and have questions or concerns about Hunter Education in Texas, feel free to contact our administrative office at 512.655.3087 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Link to more information about Hunter Education in Texas.